Bible Reading Ministry Downtown San Diego

Robert reading the bible aloud downtown San Diego, CA

Robert from Zimbabwe – Oct 4th, 2014

I met Robert downtown San Deigo today at the gate of the GasLamp district. He is a born again Christian and claimed to be filled with the Holy Spirit. “I didn’t know I was doing ministry”, he said to me. I just read the bible out loud ’cause it is my favourite book!” “Yes, that’s great!,” I said,” but why are you doing it at the corner in the busiest part of town if God hadn’t put it on your heart to do so!” He couldn’t answer me!

Robert had been reading his tiny pocket bible aloud when I passed him on my bike. I heard a some scripture as I rode by. It caused me to stop and want to talk with him. I asked him what he was doing and his initial comment was, “I”m reading the bible. Do you got a problem with that?” No”, I smiled, “but I’m surprised to hear it on the street”.  I asked him, “How long have you been doing this ministry?”  Robert seemed oblivious to the fact he was even doing ministry. “I’m not a preacher but a disciple, he commented. “Yes! And an obedient one at that,” I chuckled.

Robert told me how he loves Jesus with all his heart and how he often comes to read the bible on this street corner. I shared Hebrews 4:12 with him, “For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” When people hear the word of God, it gets into their very being and convicts them of sin.” You are setting important seeds of salvation brother!” Robert’s eyes lit up as he spoke in a small voice, “I want Jesus to use me.” I ensured him that He was and encouraged him to continue the great work he is doing for the Kingdom of God.

Please pray for Robert for his bible reading ministry on the busy streets of downtown San Diego. Robert is also a Christian rap artist and is looking to put together his own CD for the glory of God. Pray he will get the funding, backing and the necessary support he needs in Jesus name! Thank you for your prayers!

Leave a comment